Posted on

Wrath of the Titans: Review

titans

Wrath of the Titans (2012)

Director: Jonathan Liebesman

Cast: Sam Worthington, Liam Neesan, Ralph Fiennes, Edgar Ramirez

Synopsis: A decade after defeating the Kraken Perseus (Sam Worthington) must abandon his quiet life as a fisherman and father to help free his father Zeus (Liam Neeson) from his brother Ares (Edgar Ramirez) and Hades (Ralph Fiennes). He must also assist Zeus in stopping Hades and Ares from releasing the Titan Kronos from his prison.

Review: I went into this film without high expectations hoping it would be as much fun as the first one but not to much worse of a film. What I got was a more serious subject matter but not as much of the action that made the first one enjoyable. The 3D on the Imax was spectacular and the film looks great but I just didn’t enjoy it as much as I did the first. Not to say the first was that great of a film but it really entertained me and that is sometimes enough for me to like a movie. They completely underused both main villains in the film with Ares not really causing the mayhem you’d expect from the God of War and Kronos was just another Kraken just there to create mayhem but not really doing anything. That being said Edgar Ramirez was still excellent as Ares and I look forward to future performances by him. Sam Worthington was solid as Perseus as well as Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes. I was still entertained though and would recommend seeing it in theaters for the 3D alone. C+

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

5 responses to “Wrath of the Titans: Review

  1. I will only be doing reviews for new movies I have seen in theaters or on DVD recently.

  2. I saw this movie with Trevor in the theaters and although it wasn’t much of a story, the effects were fun and it kept me interested. It was a good length… too much longer and it probably would have lost me. Andromeda was gorgeous. I don;t remember her from the first movie, but she stood out in this one.

  3. Hi, welcome to Blogland! This film was a lot better than I thought it would be, nice succinct review too đŸ™‚

  4. I didn’t like the first movie; I got bored with them wandering around and felt it – literally – like any kind of direction LOL So I guess I’ll be giving this one a miss. I might hit it up on Redbox for a buck when it comes out though…

Leave a Reply

