Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #100 The Cable Guy

The Cable Guy

The Cable Guy (1996)

Director: Ben Stiller

Cast: Jim Carrey, Matthew Broderick, Leslie Mann, Jack Black

Synopsis:  Recently single Steven Kovacs (Matthew Broderick) has moved into a new apartment and while having his cable installed meets the very strange Chip Douglas (Jim Carrey) and offers him a bribe for free cable. After the cable is installed Chip suggests maybe they should hang out which Steven agrees to. It is not long before Chip starts showing up at Steven’s gym, leaving dozens of messages on his phone and having dinner with his family. When he decides to end the friendship he realizes that cable always come with a price.

Trivia: This movie marked the first time that an actor received a $20 million dollar upfront salary for a film.

Why I think you should see this: This to date is my favourite of Jim Carrey’s comedies and I love it because it is able to make a serious and dark subject into a funny film. Jim Carrey is at his best in some of the funniest scenes in any film. The karaoke party scene is to die for!

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

8 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #100 The Cable Guy

  1. This is one of my favourites as well. Start things off with a solid comedy. I feel like not everyone will have seen this one, too, which is great. Maybe I am wrong, but I feel it is one of the less well known Jim Carrey films.

    I love the part in the Medieval Restaurant… so ridiculous…

  2. noa834 ⋅

    Even though I was forced to watch more Jim Carrey than I would have ever signed up for on my own, this my favourite of his comedies. It is laugh out loud funny, the karaoke scene and the medieval feast scene are brilliant. Not sure what you mean by the 20 million dollar advance overshadowing the film? Could you expand on that please for me.

  3. noa834 ⋅

    Matthew Broderick was a fabulous straight man. Watching the clip reminded me of the basketball scene. It was hilarious too.

  4. Palestine Rose ⋅

    I’ll check it out, maybe netflix has it by now.
    Thanks for the suggestion.

  5. denpal99 ⋅

    great idea for a blog, looking forward to following the progress of your top 100. your review of the cableguy makes me want to see it as soon as i can.

  6. Lesley

    A good, strong starting point. I look forward to the rest of your list.
    Just an aside, I’m pretty sure the first time I met you, you did a spot on Jim Carey impression, so I’m not surprised at all that this made the list. L3 (that’s a thumbs up, not a typo 🙂 )

  7. Good to see this funny film to be part of your list. Yeah, the karaoke scene is hilarious 😀

  8. Keith Huggins ⋅

    Love all of Jim Careys films, but I especially related to the Cable Guy because it reminded me of my childhood and how I was raised….
    “Somebodies got to kill the babysitter!”

Leave a Reply

