Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #96 John Carter

john carter

John Carter (2012)

Director: Andrew Stanton

Cast: Taylor Kitsch, Lynn Collins, Willem Dafoe, Mark Strong

Synopsis: John Carter (Taylor Kitsch) a Civil War veteran in 1868 who is asked to rejoin the army and upon refusal is locked up. After escaping he finds a cave that has a lot of strange markings on the walls, he obtains a medallion that transports him to Barsoom (Mars) where the air is breathable and the planet inhabited by two different species. The difference in the planet’s atmosphere makes him able to jump huge distances and he is incredibly strong. Carter is taken captive by the Tharks a race of 12-foot tall green barbarians who are led by Tars Tarkas (Willem Dafoe). After rescuing a princess (Lynn Collins) of Helium a race of red humanoids Carter is asked to aid her city against a warlord from Zodanga who has been slaughtering her people. Initially he refuses but soon after realizes that he cannot just stand aside that he must fight for Barsoom.

Trivia: The first “John Carter” story by Edgar Rice Burroughs made its debut in 1912 in a magazine serial. Thus, the 2012 feature film marks the centenary (100th anniversary) of the character’s first appearance.

Why I think you should see this: I have seen this movie twice in the theaters and loved it both times it is an absolute masterpiece of sci-fi filming. The effects are incredible and the lead character is very likable as are all the rest. I really encourage people to go see this in theaters while it is still out and if you miss it make it a top priority for rental. I was simply over whelmed the first time I saw it and after it was done I was very sad that it did poorly at the box office because that makes it unlikely for the promise of any sequels.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

10 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #96 John Carter

  1. I am hoping to see this one tonight before it leaves the theatres!

  2. noa834 ⋅

    Not on here but I will make sure I rent it!

  3. Hutch

    I think Hunger Games edged this one out and for the life of me I can’t figure out why? I thought Hunger Games was way overblown and was quite frankly a disappointment to me. I chose to see it over John Carter because the showtime worked better for me but thanks to your review I think I will go see it tonight.

    • Hunger Games just had a much better marketing campaign and had the advantage of having a more recent source material whereas John Carter’s source material is around 100 years old. This of course doesn’t necessarily mean it is a better film.

  4. I’ve never even heard of this flick but you’ve sold me on it. Hope Chronicles of Narnia Voyage of the Dawn Treader is in your Top 100 list

  5. I went to see this film on the basis that I remember liking the books way back when I was in high school (I love Edgar Rice Burroughs). Now I want to go back and read the books again.

  6. Read the books as a kid; classic BEM sci fi…
    Thanks for the intro to the film; hadn’t been aware of it.

  7. This was a major series of books for me when I was a kid; I was disappointed that rottentomatoes.com gave it a 52. Some people only look at what other people remark. I missed it in the theatres but the trailer was brilliant!

  8. Reblogged this on lifeinthe05 and commented:
    A brilliant book

    • Thanks for the reblog and interest in my blog. John Carter makes for a great sci-fi film in my opinion I recently found out that we don’t have to wait long for a chance to see it again because it comes out on DVD and Blu-ray on June 5th!

Leave a Reply

