Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #94 The Bourne Identity

bourne

The Bourne Identity (2002)

Director: Doug Liman

Cast: Matt Damon, Franka Potente, Chris Cooper, Brian Cox

Synopsis: A man is found at sea unconscious in the water with no identification and no recollection of who he might be. The ships doctor finds a small device in his hip which contains a bank number. After arriving in Germany in an attempt to find out who he is the man ends up being wanted by Interpol. After hitching a ride with a stranger the man starts to piece together who he is and his name is Jason Bourne and he is very dangerous.

Trivia: At Doug Liman’s instruction, screenwriter Tony Gilroy did not read the “Bourne Identity” novel; instead, he worked solely from an outline prepared by Liman.

Why I think you should see this: I am a huge fan of the Bourne franchise and Matt Damon so this movie is a no brainer for me there is a steady pace of action and the screenplay is pretty good too. I find that each installment is better than the last because they are successfully moving the story forward and not losing anything in the process. You absolutely have to watch them in order despite how I have them ranked.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

Leave a Reply

