Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #82 Up

up

Up (2009)

Director: Pete Docter

Cast: Ed Asner, Jordan Nagai, Christopher Plummer, Bob Peterson

Synopsis: 78 year-old widower Carl Fredrickson (Ed Asner) is about to be sent to an old age home when he decides to tie thousands of balloons to his house so that it will float away to South America. After he is already in the air he realizes that he is not alone in the house with boy scout Russell (Jordan Nagai) having hitched a ride. Once they have arrived to their destination Carl and Russell get caught up in a chase of an elusive bird by Carl’s childhood hero Charles Muntz (Christopher Plummer). Throughout this adventure they meet a talking dog Dug (Bob Peterson) who helps them escape from Muntz with the bird.

Trivia: Pixar is known (at least by devoted Pixar fans) for referencing to a character in their next movie to come out in their most recent one. A stuffed Lotso bear (Toy Story 3) appears in the room of a little girl Carl passes when his house first takes off. When we first meet Carl as a child, the left side of his collar is sticking out of his vest while the right side of his collar is tucked into his vest. When we first meet Russell, the left side of his collar is tucked under his neckerchief and the right side is sticking out.

Why I think you should see this: Honestly I didn’t know what to expect when this movie first came out but assumed it would be good because it was Pixar making it and I was right. This is another home run for Pixar and Pete Docter who also directed Monsters, Inc. This film was just such a beautiful film and the opening sequence leaves me teary eyed every time. I cannot recommend this movie enough it is just so amazing.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

6 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #82 Up

  1. --Rick ⋅

    This is a cool blog. Very unique. I just subscribed and plan on making a lot of visits here. Thanks!

  2. I LOVE Up ๐Ÿ™‚ I love (almost) all the Pixar movies… (Cars 2 let me down)

    My son and I like to watch them together. I highly recommend you go to YouTube and check out Pogo’s techno remixes of soundbites from Pixar movies too ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thanks for including this in the list! I LOVE this movie. It kept me captivated from the intro credits…

  4. Brings a smile to my face. What a gorgeous animation. Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

