Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #83 Gremlins

gizmo

Gremlins (1984)

Director : Joe Dante

Cast: Zach Galligan, Phoebe Cates, Frances Lee McCain, Hoyt Axton

Synopsis: Inventor Randall Peltzer (Hoyt Axton) is on a business trip and is searching for a last minute Christmas present for his son Billy (Zach Galligan) when he is brought to an antique Chinese store. In the store he tries to sell one of his inventions when he hears a faint singing and he offers to buy the creature singing. After he is refused sale of the animal the grandson of the store owner secretly sells it too him but tells him there are three rules he must follow keep it away from light sunlight can kill it, don’t get water on it and don’t feed it after midnight. We discover that the animal is a Mogwai which the family names Gizmo. It is not long however before they spill water on Gizmo which makes more Mogwai’s soon after they are fed after midnight turning them into small monsters that wreak havoc on the town and it’s people.

Trivia: In Cantonese Chinese, mogwai means devil, demon or gremlin. The Mandarin pronunciation is mogui. The set for Kingston Falls is the same one used for Back to the Future. Both movies were filmed in the Universal Studios backlot.

Why I think you see this: It’s Gremlins man need I say more? I am sure most people have seen this or at least heard of it but this is a super fun film that scared me as a kid but makes me laugh now. It is incredibly silly and quite dated now but I still love it. It is a shame they made the sequel as a sort of spoof of the first because this could have been a fun franchise. Highly recommended!

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

2 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #83 Gremlins

  1. Pingback: Random Awesomeness (part 68) « The Writer's Journey

  2. This has always been one of my favorites

Leave a Reply

