Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #80 The Town

town

The Town (2010)

Director: Ben Affleck

Cast: Ben Affleck, John Hamm, Rebecca Hall, Jeremy Renner

Synopsis: Doug MacRay (Ben Affleck) and James Coughlin (Jeremy Renner) are bank robbers who have kidnapped the bank manager Claire Keesey (Rebecca Hall) that they are robbing. After the fact they realize that she lives in their neighborhood so Doug decides to shadow her to make sure she doesn’t recognize them. After talking with her he falls in love with her which makes James very paranoid because they are planning their biggest job ever. On top of all this they are being hunted by a relentless FBI agent (Jon Hamm) who will stop at nothing to put Doug and James in jail forever.

Trivia: Director/star Ben Affleck was most concerned that the actors not have phony sounding Boston accents. When Blake Lively read for the part of Krista, she sounded so authentic that he asked her what part of Boston she grew up in. She was born and raised in California.

Why I think you should see this: In my opinion really good heist films are few and far between these days with Oceans Eleven and Heat being prime examples so The Town is a very welcome addition to the genre. I have been very impressed with the first films directed by Ben Affleck as Gone Baby Gone was a very good film as well. This is the first film with Jeremy Renner I have seen and I am very impressed and am looking forward to future performances.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

4 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #80 The Town

  1. This is a great film as well though Affleck’s Gone Baby Gone is a bit better. Hopefully that’ll show up on the list as well.

  2. noa834 ⋅

    Jeremy Renner was awesome in Hurt Locker

  3. lincava

    I like this movie. How can I see the rest of your list? Is “My Favorite Year” or “Pushing Tin” among them?

Leave a Reply

