Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #73 Poltergeist

poltergeist

Poltergeist (1982)

Director: Tobe Hooper

Cast: JoBeth Williams, Craig T. Nelson, Heather O’Rourke, Zelda Rubinstein

Synopsis: The Freeling family live in a neighbourhood just like any other until their daughter Carole-Anne (Heather O’Rourke) begins communicating with the supernatural through a dead channel on the television. It is not long before the enter the house and at first begin to play small tricks to amuse the family. Then the spirits behaviour takes a nasty turn when they start to attack the family and finally abducting Carole-Anne and bring her to the other side. Her mother (JoBeth Williams) and father (Craig T. Nelson) hire a spiritual medium to help them get Carole- Anne back.

Trivia: The skeletons that emerge from the swimming pool while Diane searches for help are actual skeletons. JoBeth Williams didn’t know this until after the scene was shot. JoBeth Williams was hesitant about shooting the swimming pool scene because of the large amount of electrical equipment positioned over and around the pool. In order to comfort her, Steven Spielberg crawled in the pool with her to shoot the screen. Spielberg told her, “Now if a light falls in, we will both fry.” The strategy worked and Williams got in the pool.

Why I think you should see this: This is yet another movie that is greatly influenced by Steven Spielberg and it doesn’t hinder it one bit. This film while not as scary as it once was is still very entertaining and also very well made. The idea to cast them unknown actors was a great idea because it adds to the authenticity of the film. I really enjoy this film and recommend it to anyone looking for a fun older movie to watch.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

5 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #73 Poltergeist

  1. noa834 ⋅

    I’ve never seen it but I think I will based on this review.

  2. This movie scared the crap out of me as a kid and I watched it again a few years ago and it still kind of creeps me out but it’s really really good. Nice review!

Leave a Reply

