Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #71 Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgandy

anchorman

Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgandy (2004)

Director: Adam McKay

Cast: Will Ferrell, Christina Applegate, Paul Rudd, Steve Carell

Synopsis: Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell) is San Diego’s top rated newsman in the male dominated broadcasting of the 1970’s. When his station hires a female newscaster Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) to help diversify the station Ron falls in love with her and they start dating. After an accident that prevents Ron from reading the news Veronica fills in for her and in a fit of rage Ron breaks up with her. After Veronica is named co-anchor Ron starts to play pranks on her which leads to all out war between the two and Ron eventually gets fired. No having hit rock bottom Ron gets a chance to redeem himself and prove he is still the best anchorman in San Diego.

Trivia: First part of Adam McKay’s and Will Ferrell’s “Mediocre American Man Trilogy”. The second part is Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby. On all parts McKay works as the director, Ferrell is the main actor and they both work as writers on the projects.

Why I think you should see this: I am a huge fan of Will Ferrell’s liking almost everything that he has done but this is my favourite of his films. This is also the first movie that pairs him with frequent collaborator and friend Adam McKay. The supporting cast is hilarious with Paul Rudd and Steve Carell being absolutely hysterical in their roles. Christina Applegate also shines in her role as she makes the perfect opponent for Will Ferrel’s chauvinistic Ron Burgundy. A must see for any comedy fans.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

4 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #71 Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgandy

  1. I have not seen this movie but I am glad you suggested it. Now I will.Thanks

  2. Thanks for liking my recent post and visiting my blog. It appears that you are just starting out with your blog, but you have a good thing going. I like how you break-up your reviews and add in a paragraph of trivia and why you think someone should see the film. It makes for quick and concise reading and I think it is an excellent approach.

Leave a Reply

