Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #66 Star Trek II The Wrath of Khan

khan

Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan (1982)

Director: Nicholas Meyer

Cast: William Shatner, Ricardo Montalban, Leonard Nimoy, Bibi Besch

Synopsis: Admiral James T. Kirk (William Shatner), is now a Star Fleet Academy instructor, while Captain Spock (Leonard Nemoy), serves as a cadet training officer, while being in command of the USS Enterprise. While surveying Ceti Alpha VI Commander Chekov, discovers Khan Noonien Singh (Ricardo Montalban), a genetic-engineered superman that was put into exile for trying to capture the Enterprise. Khan is determined to exact revenge on Kirk by any means necessary so he goes after the Genesis Device lead by Dr. Carol Marcus (Bibi Besch) and her son David. Kirk must now try and outmaneuver Khan before he can trigger the Genesis Device and get his revenge.

Trivia: Producer Harve Bennett viewed all the original Star Trek episodes and chose Star Trek: Space Seed as the best candidate for a sequel. Spock even remarks in the script that it would be interesting to return in a hundred years or so to see what type of civilization had grown there. This is the first time a movie was made as a sequel to a specific television show episode.

Why I think you should see this: Until the most recent Star Trek film in 2009 this has always been considered the best Trek film of all time and now I’d say its a very close second. Don’t get me wrong this is still a great film and still remains a great revenge movie. Ricardo Montalban shines as the Khan and Shatner is his usual self as Kirk and the rest of the crew are solid. This is a great action film and come highly recommended.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

5 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #66 Star Trek II The Wrath of Khan

  1. “Wrath Of Khan” Has ALWAYS Been My FAVE-FAVE Of ALL-TIME with “First Contact” Coming In At 2ND.
    The Newest Trek Flick Was Very Cool…
    …But I Didn’t Enjoy It Nearly As Much As Those Two.
    Just My Opinion, Though 😉
    -BRAD

  2. gsqared ⋅

    Reblogged this on Gsqared and commented:
    Classic star trek

  3. What a coincidence! I just saw this, and totally at random!

  4. My favorite Classic Star Trek movie was The Voyage Home. I do love the new one.

  5. Monica

    I still think this is the best Star Trek film, but it’s REALLY close with the 2009. I was surprised how much I liked that one.

Leave a Reply

