Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #61 Predator

predator

Predator (1987)

Director: John McTiernan

Cast: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Carl Weathers, Kevin Peter Hall, Elpidia Carillo

Synopsis: An elite team of Commandos headed by Major Dutch Schafer (Arnold Schwarzenegger) are hired by an old teammate of Dutch’s, Dillon (Carl Weathers) to rescue a Cabinet Minister whose helicopter has crashed in South America. Once in the jungle the team realizes that there is something much more sinister with them than just an army of Guerrilla soldiers. After a while they begin to realize their Predator (Kevin Peter Hall) is not from this world and is picking them off one by one. Now Dutch and Dillon with the help of the remaining team members and Anna (Elpidia Carillo), a local rebel, to try and kill the Predator before it kill them.

Trivia: According to an interview with director John McTiernan, the “hole in the jungle” appearance of the Predator was played by Jean-Claude Van Damme in a “blue screen” (actually red) suit. Van Damme quit after two days, unhappy with being cast as an uncredited special effect, but can be seen as the Predator in If It Bleeds We Can Kill It: The Making of ‘Predator’. The alien was scrapped, redesigned and was eventually played by Kevin Peter Hall who was 7’2″ tall.

Why I think you should see this: I remember seeing this movie when I was only 9 years old and I loved every minute of it and 15 years later I still love it. This is one of Schwarzenegger’s best as well as the movie that made John McTiernan famous. This is a big time mens film but I still will recommend it too anyone. I also suggest you see the two sequels Predator 2 and Predators if you really love the seires you could check out the Alien vs. Predator films but that isn’t necessary. The score from composer Alan Silvestri is one of my all time favourites. Check this one out sometime.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

3 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #61 Predator

  1. tekia ⋅

    This movie is simply AWESOME! Personally I feel Predator is just the baddest alien ever (but that’s just me).

  2. Loved this movie as a kid and it still holds up under my (slightly) more adult, refined tastes

  3. One of my oldest and fondest childhood memories is the first Predator movie. Saw it when I was 3 years old, this is one of the best movies ever. The second one with Danny Glover was pretty amazing too. I love your site, you and I would be great friends I have seen most of the movies youve mentioned here lol.

Leave a Reply

