Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #62 Fargo

fargo
Fargo (1996)

Director: Joel Coen

Cast: Frances McDormand, William H. Macy, Steve Buscemi, Peter Stormare

Synopsis: Inept car-salesman Jerry Lundegaard (William H. Macy), has hired Carl Showalter (Steve Buscemi) and Gaear Grimsrud (Peter Stormare), to kidnap his wife. This is in order to get his father in-law to pay for a development project he wants to be a part of but can’t afford himself. On the way to their hideout after kidnapping Gaear kills three people including a police officer. Marge Gunderson (Frances McDormand) the pregnant police Chief launches an investigation into the killings which leads her to Jerry. Now Marge has to solve this crime before more people get hurt and Jerry gets away with his con.

Trivia: The film is not actually “Based on a true story”. The Coens later admitted that they added that disclaimer so the viewer would be more willing to suspend disbelief in the story. William H. Macy stated in an interview that, despite evidence to the contrary, he did hardly any ad-libbing at all. Most of his character’s stuttering mannerisms were written in the script exactly the way he does them in the film.

Why I think you should see this: The Coen Brothers just don’t make bad films and this film is among their best. Frances McDormand is absolutely amazing in her Oscar winning performance and Steve Buscemi is his normal awesome self. This movie is very clever and gets better upon multiple viewings. If you like this I suggest you check out their first film Blood Simple it is similar and also a very good look at the kind of film maker they would become.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

7 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #62 Fargo

  1. Susan

    I love this movie!!! Frances McDormand at her best! And I’m a big fan of Steve Buscemi.

  2. I loved this film. You’re so right about it being worth seeing. Cathy x

  3. noa834 ⋅

    It was so quirky, very imaginative film. I am a big fan of the Coen Bros. Loved Raising Arizona even more.

  4. --Rick ⋅

    The film was unusual in terms of not providing the expected and it reflects an imagination I thought long ago died in Hollywood. One of my favorites.

  5. Fargo is a fav. The fact that I like the wood chipper scene is a tad disturbing. Thanks for the like on my blog and I am glad I found a fellow movie-buff.

  6. Great movie, possibly my 2nd favorite Coen Brothers movie (after Big Lebowski)

  7. I didn’t like this movie even though many people raved about it. I have watched it 3 times and I still don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

