Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #60 The Princess Bride

princess bride
“As You Wish.”

The Princess Bride (1987)

Director: Rob Reiner

Cast: Cary Elwes, Robin Wright, Mandy Patinkin, Chris Sarandon, Andre the Giant

Synopsis: A kindly grandfather sits down with his ill grandson and reads him a story. The story is one that has been passed down from father to son for generations. The story is a classic tale of love and adventure as the beautiful Buttercup (Robin Wright), engaged to the odious Prince Humperdinck (Chris Sarandon), is kidnapped and held against her will in order to start a war. The real love of her life Westley (Cary Elwes), disguised as the Dread Pirate Roberts, and he fast on the trail of Buttercup and her captors. After he defeats Inigo Montoya (Mandy Patinkin) and Fezzik (Andre the Giant) he rescues Buttercup from their leader Vizzini. When Westley finds out that Humpdinck plans to kill Buttercup to seal his plans of war he teams with Inigo and Fezzik to storm the castle and save Buttercup.

Trivia: Director Rob Reiner left the set during Billy Crystal’s scenes because he would laugh so hard that he would feel nauseated. Cary Elwes was cast because of what Rob Reiner called his Douglas Fairbanks or Errol Flynn quality. Fairbanks and Flynn both played Robin Hood. Later Elwes spoofed their performances in Robin Hood: Men in Tights.

Why I think you should see this: This is a film I have enjoyed since I was a child it is a great adventure film and also a wonderful romantic movie too. They did a really good job telling the story as if it is being read to us in real time and Peter Faulk is great as the grandfather. I love both Many Patinkin and Andre the Giant as Inigo and Fezzik they are very hilarious. The movie however, belongs to Cary Elwes and Robin Wright as the lovers who will stop at nothing to be together. I love this movie and suggest you watch it sometime soon.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

12 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #60 The Princess Bride

  1. Hey–thanks for stopping by my blog so I could start following yours. Your list is great, and Princess Bride is in my top 3 fave films of all time (Spinal Tap and Finding Nemo are the other two). God bless Mandy Patinkin.

  2. sarahjaneprosetry ⋅

    Yes, yes yes! Twoo Wuv!

  3. Lesley

    Have fun storming the Castle!
    (you do know that you’ve just given subliminal permission for people to bombard you with quotes, right?)

  4. The book is great too!
    Mawidge is a dweam wifin a dweam…..

  5. I agree with Lesley. My favorite line is “have fun storming the castle!”

  6. I was just thinking about getting the book this afternoon and then saw you posted this. My fiancee’s never seen it so I think I’ll rewatch it with her soon!

  7. noa834 ⋅

    Another quirky movie that captures young and old alike.

  8. quote me up! I find I am usually the only one quoting things the more quotes the better!

  9. Mawiage. Classic! And the scene with the poison cups. Hilarious! Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

