Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #57 No Country for Old Men

bardem

No Country for Old Men (2007)

Directors: Ethan Coen, Joel Coen

Cast: Josh Brolin, Tommy Lee Jones, Kelly Macdonald, Javier Bardem

Synopsis: While hunting Llewellyn Moss (Josh Brolin), stumbles upon a group of dead Mexicans and a lot of Heroin, he follows a trail of blood and finds a satchel with 2 million dollars in it which he decides to take. He decides to go back later that evening and he is attacked by two men and is forced to leave his truck. When he gets back home he tells his wife Carla Jean (Kelly Macdonald) to pack up her things to go stay with her mom for a while until he can sort this whole situation out. Enter Anton Chigurgh (Javier Bardem), who the money was originally supposed to go to and now he is after Llewellyn for the money. Sheriff Ed Tom Bell (Tommy Lee Jones), after realizing who they are dealing with in Chigurgh tries to get Carla Jean to tell her where Llewellyn is so he can help him. Now Llewellyn is in for the fight of his life as the seemingly unstoppable Chigurgh seeks to claim what is his and kill him for the inconvenience.

Trivia: Anton Chigurgh and Llewellyn Moss (played by Javier Bardem and Josh Brolin respectively) are seen dressing injuries a total of five times in the movie. Five is also the number of locks that Anton breaks in the movie.  Josh Brolin was making Grindhouse when he was turned on to role of Moss. He asked the film’s director Robert Rodriguez if he could borrow a video camera for his audition tape, and he ended up having his audition elaborately shot with the theatrical camera they were using, directed by Quentin Tarantino, and with Marley Shelton as Carla Jean. When the Coens saw Brolin’s tape, their response was that they loved the lighting.

Why I think you should see this: I really love the Coen Brother’s as I stated earlier and this is the best film that the two officially directed together and it also netted them Best Director Oscars. Josh Brolin is pretty awesome in his star turning role and Tommy Lee Jones is his usual solid self. This film is owned by Javier Bardem who turns in one of the best villainous portrayals in years. Definitely the Best Picture of 2007. This movie is a great film and I suggest you check it out sometime.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

5 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #57 No Country for Old Men

  1. This is one of my favorites. I could watch it any day of the week, regardless of my mood.

  2. Clearly a very good film, but I am curious as to whether you believe it to be better than There Will Be Blood. I predict that time will elevate Blood above No Country even though the Academy gave them the Oscar (probably for totally screwing them during Fargo’s nomination). Also, what Coen picture do you believe to be better than No Country? (This is based on your comment about Joel & Ethan’s co-direction.) It is widely understood that they both write and direct in equal capacities, but previously split the duties on official credits for union purposes. Just wondering if you have any opinions on the rest of their ouevre.

    • I love There Will Be Blood don’t get me wrong but I have always been more partial to the Coen Brothers work than to Paul Thomas Anderson’s films. I can’t answer your questions regarding other works of the Coen Brothers that I enjoy and what is my favourite because my answer would contain spoilers to my list. All I can say is that I haven’t listed my favourite film of theirs yet. Thanks for checking out my bloggy

  3. noa834 ⋅

    Great movie masterpiece.

  4. Brilliant. Eerily moving, suspense filled dram, very disquieting. Brilliant! Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

