Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #58 Toy Story

toy story

Toy Story (1995)

Director: John Lasseter

Cast: Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, John Morris, Don Rickles

Synopsis: A young boy named Andy (John Morris), likes to play with his toys especially his favourite Woody (Tom Hanks). He is having an early Birthday party because the family is moving Andy gets a new Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) toy,who does not believe that he is a toy, that essentially replaces Woody as his favourite toy. When Andy is allowed only one toy to bring with him to dinner Woody, tries to get Buzz stuck down the side of his desk but accidentally knocks him out the bedroom window when the other toys find out Mr. Potato Head (Don Rickles) accuses Woody of trying to kill Buzz. While waiting in the car for Andy and his Mom to pump gas Woody realizes that Buzz is still alive and he is happy because he can prove to the other toys he is still alive. While fighting they get separated from Andy and end up with toy killer Sid Phillips. Now they must find a way out of Sid’s house and get back to Andy before he moves without them.

Trivia: Woody and Buzz Lightyear are inspired by director John Lasseter’s own childhood toys. He based Woody on his own pull-string Casper doll, and once he grew out of Casper he moved on to a G.I Joe, a flashy toy at the time of his childhood. Mr. Potato-Head’s line “What are you looking at, ya hockey puck?” is one of actor/comedian Don Rickles’ catchphrases.

Why I think you should see this: Toy Story is a very important movie in my opinion because it is the first full-length computer animated film. The voice acting is top notch and would set the example for every Pixar film that followed. Tim Allen and Tom Hanks are sublime as Buzz and Woody. I urge you to watch the entire trilogy because they are all just amazing but this will always be my favourite. Check this one out you won’t be disappointed.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

6 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #58 Toy Story

  1. Lesley

    You’re on a Roll! I loved this movie when it first came out, and I’m happy to say, my kids love it now. Aside from the ground breaking animation, the content of the movie itself is just awesome. A true multi-generational masterpiece.
    I will say, on a separate note, I’m getting a little concerned that we’re nearly halfway through the list, and neither Jaws nor The Rocky Horror Picture Show have yet to make an appearance. lol
    😉
    Great list so far, Trevor.

  2. I have seen all you movie picks so far with the exception of four I that do want to see and one I will skip. But I deserve an A$$ whipped as I’m probably the only person in the world that hasn’t seen Toy Story . It is on my list of must see.

  3. It would be so easy for this to fall into the back of our minds since it was such a technological marvel nearly 20 years ago, but it’s really amazing how well it has held up. Even when the CGI looks absolutely ancient the story alone will hopefully carry this one.

  4. khadis ⋅

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I came here to visit yours and you know, i found a great blog! Wow! It’s really fun to read your posts and I like them all. Actually, it’s my first time visiting such kind of this blog: make a review of a particular film. And it’s really fun here. Thanks.

  5. khadis

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I came here to visit yours and you know, i found a great blog! Wow! It’s really fun to read your posts and I like them all. Actually, it’s my first time visiting such kind of this blog: make a review of a particular film. And it’s really fun here. Thanks.

  6. noa834 ⋅

    I have always thought that this was a perfect movie, full of humour and pathos. Everyone could enjoy this film because it is the perfect story. There isn’t a child amongst us who didn’t think that their toys had a life of their own when we fell asleep.

Leave a Reply

