Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #56 Romancing the Stone

romance

Romancing the Stone (1984)

Director: Robert Zemeckis

Cast: Michael Douglas, Kathleen Turner, Danny DeVito, Alfonso Arau

Synopsis: Romance novelist Joan Wilder (Kathleen Turner), receives a treasure map in the mail from her recently murdered brother-in-law. Meanwhile, her sister Elaine is kidnapped in Colombia and the two criminals responsible demand that she travel to Cartegena, Colombia to exchange the map for her sister. After getting on the wrong bus going away from Cartegena Joan becomes stranded and is held up for the map by corrupt cop Zolo. This is when Jack T. Colton (Michael Douglas), comes along and saves Joan from Zolo, after which they strike a deal where Jack will help Joan get to Cartegena. Together, they embark upon an adventure that could be straight out of Joan’s novels.

Trivia: The water taxi Joan Wilder rides to meet Ira is named “The Orca,” which is also the name of Quint’s boat in Jaws. Jaws director Steven Spielberg produced director Robert Zemeckis’ previous film, Used Cars. Zemeckis also co-wrote Spielberg’s 1941 which features a “Jaws” parody. Studio executives were so sure this film would flop that Robert Zemeckis was pre-emptively fired from directing Cocoon. It turned out to be such a success that Zemeckis was able to go forward on his own project, Back to the Future.

Why I think you should see this: Robert Zemeckis is one of my favourite directors and one of the more talented of his generation with this bein gthe film that made him famous. This movie is the reason I will always be a Michael Douglas fan because his portrayal of Jack T. Colton is nothing short of perfection he is just so good. Kathleen Turner does a wonderful job as Joan Wilder and Danny DeVito is great as well. Alfonso Arau is quite hilarious in his small cameo. This is a great film give it a try sometime you won’t be disappointed.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

7 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #56 Romancing the Stone

  1. noa834 ⋅

    I absolutely loved this movie when it came out. It was one of the first we ever bought as a family way back in VHS days.

  2. I wish I had this on DVD today, I could use cheering up and Romancing The Stone is one of the most purely fun films there is! I might track it down now, thanks 🙂

  3. Matt

    I highly approve of your blog, and thanks for your interest in http://mistergkids.com !

  4. I have been looking back at your older posts and I have seen them all except #80, The Town.

  5. What a great blog. I just followed you. I’m so glad you stopped by mine. Great writing, interesting trivia, lots of possibilities. I’m kind of tapped out on what to watch to you’re a big help.

  6. Good review. I’m going to be a bit controversial here though, and say that I would rate Jewel of the Nile just a bit higher than this (all thanks to that Billy Ocean theme song)

  7. You must be as old as me to remember these films 😉 Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

