Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #53 The Prestige

prestige

The Prestige (2006)

Director: Christopher Nolan

Cast: Hugh Jackman, Christian Bale, David Bowie, Michael Caine

Synopsis: Robert Angier (Hugh Jackman), his beloved wife Julia McCullough and Alfred Borden (Christian Bale) are friends and assistants of a magician. When Julia accidentally dies during a performance, Robert blames Alfred for her death and they become  rival magicians, sabotaging the performances of one another on the stage. When Alfred performs a successful trick, Robert becomes obsessed trying to disclose the secret of his competitor by seeking the help of famed inventor Nikola Tesla (David Bowie). Now with the help of his assistant Cutter (Michael Caine) he will attempt his own version of Borden’s trick.

Trivia: Nikola Tesla was a world-renowned inventor, physicist, and engineer. For a while, he conducted electrical experiments at his lab in Colorado Springs, where he was also known for his eccentric behavior. Alfred Borden takes on the stage name of “The Professor”. This is the nickname that was given to Dai Vernon, the man many consider to be the best modern day sleight of hand magician.

Why I think you should see this: I just love Christopher Nolan’s work he seems to get better with each film since Batman Begins and this one doesn’t disappoint. In my opinion this is Hugh Jackman’s best performance and Christian Bale is pretty awesome too. It’s also pretty fun to see David Bowie in a film again and he is pretty cool as Nikola Tesla. This is quite a complicated film so I didn’t want to give much away with my synopsis. I was a little skeptical because it was a movie about rival magicians but it kept me interested from start to finish. Definitely worth checking out sometime.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

4 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #53 The Prestige

  1. khadis

    Hello again. It’s nice to visit your blog again. And still, I found a very interesting films review here. I just want to inform you, that in my homeland, I and my friends are managing a local film community since 2004 and we hold independent film festival every year too. Because you are a film-a-holic, I think you will be interested to watch any kind of film, including our films. If you want to know more about our films (we call them as “Film Banyumasan”, means film from Banyumas), please visit our main homepage: clc-purbalingga.blogspot.com and festivalfilmpurbalingga.blogspot.com. Thank you.

  2. jmount43 ⋅

    Loved this film. I went out and got all of Nolan’s films with the exception of “Following.” I am quickly becoming a major fan.

  3. This is the only Nolan film I’ve only seen once…I should rewatch it since I have it on DVD.

  4. Tom Lucas ⋅

    I am not sure if any film captured “obsession” better than this. A stunning ending, and a great manic race for greatness. Loved Bowie as Tesla. This is one of those films that can be viewed over and over…there are those that say the three Nolan Batman films follow the pattern established within the Prestige.

Leave a Reply

