Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #42 Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

joel and clem

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)

Director: Michel Gondry

Cast: Jim Carrey, Kate Winslet, Tom Wilkinson, Mark Ruffalo

Synopsis: Joel Barish (Jim Carrey) has just broken up with his girlfriend Clementine (Kate Winslet), recently and he is not taking it to well. Things take a turn for the worse when he learns from some friends that Clementine has has Joel erased from her memory. Joel is very hurt by this and in a fit of anger decides to have operation done as well. He arrives at the Lacuna Corporation and has an interview with Dr. Howard Mierzwiak (Tom Wilkinson). He tells him to gather everything that reminds him of Clemetine so the operation can be completely effective. Lacuna employee Stan (Mark Ruffalo) is sent to Joel’s apartment so that he can perform the procedure on Joel. Through a series of memories Joel begins to realize that he maybe he doesn’t want to forget Clementine, but can he stop wake up and stop the procedure before it is too late and Clementine is gone from his memories forever.

Trivia: The scene where Joel and Clementine watch the circus go through the streets was made up on the spot, as the film crew and cast happened to be working nearby and Michel Gondry decided it could work well in the film. The part where Clementine disappears suddenly is one of Gondry’s favorite moments of the film, as Jim Carrey didn’t know Kate Winslet was going to disappear and Gondry likes it because Carrey’s face appears so saddened. When the sound blanks out in the final film, Carrey is actually saying “Kate?”

Why I think you should see this: This is a beautiful film that I believe everyone should see at least once. This is by far Jim Carrey’s best performance in a film and its also one of Kate Winslet’s finest as well. I just love this movie so much and can’t say enough about how great it is too watch even after seeing quite a few times. I urge you to check this one out or watch it again if you’ve seen it many times like I have.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

10 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #42 Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

  1. Love this film! Great choice!

  2. jazfagan

    I loved this movie….I have a little bit of trivia to add to your movie knowledge. Where did the title come from? Read on http://literature-classics.knoji.com/eloise-to-abelard-by-alexander-pope-a-timeless-love-poem/ Peace Jaz

    • Ya I knew it was from a poem I just forgot who it was that wrote it thanks a bunch! I checked out your blog and you have some pretty awesome insights. You are quite pretty too. Thanks for following my blog 🙂

      • jazfagan

        Thank you…Blushing…I have been following you for awhile now and have meant to make more comments but I get so easily sidetracked lol….Peace Jaz
        PS if you haven’t already you need to add the movie Legend and Labyrinth…those are two of my all time favs…

      • I have seen both of those and they are awesome though it has been a while since I have seen either. I just might have to check them out again soon. I would love to hear more of your favs.

      • jazfagan

        I’m not a movie buff like you are but I love movies with a lot of artistry. Excalibur for one and What Dreams May Come. I also love movies that follow the story line of a book like Silence of the Lambs. That one followed the book to a T and the only difference was in the book you were actually in Starlings head and knew what she was thinking. Peace Jaz

    • I love Silence of the Lambs too. I figure most people aren’t as big film buffs as me but I am still very interested to know other peoples tastes. Have you ever seen Legend of the Guardians? It is the animmated one with owls it is not the most amazing film but it is visually stunning. Maybe check it out if you haven’t already. Trevor

  3. noa834 ⋅

    Again a great pick for the 100 films

  4. Love this movie. I’m not a big fan of Jim Carrey although I respect his excellent acting ability. Yet he really shone in this movie. Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

