Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #41 The Shining

jack

The Shining (1980)

Director: Stanley Kubrick

Cast: Jack Nicholson, Shelley Duvall, Scatman Crothers, Danny Lloyd

Synopsis: Jack Torrance (Jack Nicholson), has just been hired as the winter caretaker at the Overlook Hotel, where he and his family will be completely secluded for the entire winter season. Jack is told of the previous caretaker a seemingly normal man went insane from the seclusion and killed his family and then himself. Despite the gruesome history Jack takes the job anyways assuring the management that this won’t happen with him. Meanwhile at home his wife Wendy (Shelley Duvall) is watching their son Danny (Danny Lloyd), the young boy has an accident and a therapist is called. After this is sorted out the family head to the Overlook Hotel for the winter. When they arrive Wendy and Danny are shown around by Hotel cook Mr. Hallorann (Scatman Crothers), who is able to communicate with Danny through his mind calling a “Shining”. After being stuck inside the hotel for a couple of months Jack’s behaviour begins getting stranger and stranger until it becomes clear to Wendy that her and Danny are no longer safe in the hotel with Jack.

Trivia: Because Danny Lloyd was so young and since it was his first acting job, Stanley Kubrick was highly protective of the child. During the shooting of the movie, Lloyd was under the impression that the film he was making was a drama, not a horror movie. He only realized the truth seven years later, when, aged 13, he was shown a heavily edited version of the film. He didn’t see the uncut version of the film until he was 17 – eleven years after he’d made it.

Why I think you should see this: Jack Nicholson personifies crazy and this his most crazy role to date it is quite a site to behold. Stanley Kubrick did a great job making the Shining his own and also made one of the most frightening films ever. Danny Lloyd also did a pretty great job as the son in this film. I love watching this around Halloween and most other times too. Check this one out it’s a classic.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

6 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #41 The Shining

  1. This Was The FIRST and ONLY Film That I Can Honestly Say DID Scare Me.
    Mix The Isolation With The Knowledge That Someone You Love And Who Is Supposed To Be There To Protect You Is Now Going Crazy And Trying To Hack-Yer-Ass With An AX???
    Yeah. FREAKED ME OUT HARDCORE.
    Still My FAVE FAVE Horror Flick EVER.
    Exceptional Choice, Sir.
    Exceptional Choice, INDEED!!!
    -BRAD

  2. Reblogged this on "You Jivin' Me, Turkey?" and commented:
    Since It’s My FAVE-FAVE Of ALL-TIME (in regard to horror flicks) I Felt This One TOTALLY Deserved A Rebloggin’ing!!!
    -BRAD

  3. I really need to see this movie. I know it’s a classic but I have never got around to viewing it. It is definitely on my “to do” list! Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

  4. LOVE this movie. Because we are sick in our house – we regularly quote things during daily life,” i’m not gonna hurt ya…. i’m just gonna bash your head in.” “I’d give my god-damned soul for just a glass of beer.” I could go on – but I won’t.

  5. My 2nd favorite movie behind Goodfellas.

Leave a Reply

