Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #34 The Terminator

terminator

The Terminator (1984)

Director: James Cameron

Cast: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Linda Hamilton, Michael Biehn, Paul Winfield

Synopsis: In the year 2029, a computer called Skynet is fighting against a human resistance, after having nearly destroyed the rest of humanity in 1997. Skynet has been beaten by the human resistance led by John Connor. In an attempt to take Conner out of the picture Skynet has found a way to send a cyborg known as the Terminator (Arnold Schwarzenegger), back to 1984 to terminate Sarah Connor (Linda Hamilton) before John is even born. Kyle Reese (Michael Biehn) is sent back by John to protect Sarah from the Terminator. The Terminator is relentless in it’s quest to kill Sarah as it will stop at nothing to find her it even attacks and wipes out an entire police station in an attempt to get her. This leads to a final confrontation between Sarah, Kyle and the Terminator which will determine the fate of humanity.

Trivia: Arnold Schwarzenegger was considered so indispensable to the film that when he went off to do Conan the Destroyer first, they were prepared to wait, rather than recast him in the interim. The laser aimed handgun was specially built by Laser Products Corporation (now Sure-Fire). This was in the early days of laser aimed weapons and the what was seen was actually not a complete assembly. Only the laser was mounted but the required battery pack was hidden from view. In those days the battery packs were very large, about the size of a TV remote control. A wire was hidden underneath his sleeve.

Why I think you should see this: The Terminator was my introduction to Arnold Schwarzenegger and after that I was hooked he is the king of action heroes. This is a great overall film and is one of Cameron’s best and probably his most iconic. I loved Michael Biehn in this as Kyle Reese and he is in my opinion one of the most underrated actors in Hollywood. Linda Hamilton is great in this one but really has her chance to shine in the sequel. The effects are very dated but it kind of adds to the atmosphere. Check this one out it’s a masterpiece.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

6 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #34 The Terminator

  1. This One Was My Fave Fave Of The TERMINATOR Flicks.
    Ahhnold As A BAD GUY Was A Huge Selling Point For Me.
    I Always Wanted Him To Be The Baddie In Other Flicks…
    …It Just Didn’t Happen That Way 😦
    Oh Well.
    Love LOVE The Original Terminator, Fo Sho, Sir!!!
    -BRAD

    • I know the only other movie you get to see him as a villain in is Batman & Robin which is just not cool!

      • Yeah. I HATED Batman & Robin.
        Batman Returns is My Favorite Batman Flick, btw.
        But Yeah, Ahhnold Needs To Be A Baddie MUCH More Often. He Was A GREAT Baddie In Da Terminator!
        Oh Well. Such Is Life, I Suppose. 😉

  2. jmount43 ⋅

    A near perfect sci-fi film that never gets old.

  3. jmro98

    I’ll be back…:) the second is also a favorite of mine, this time Arnold is the good terminator…:)

  4. My husband and I were JUST talking about the Terminator because my gardening friend’s name is John Connor. The husband was VERY impressed by this name and proceeded to explain to me the entire Terminator series. I’ve never seen it (I’m sorry), but now I’m putting it on my list. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

