Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #30 Jurassic Park

trex

Jurassic Park (1993)

Director: Steven Spielberg

Cast: Sam Neil, Laura Dern, Jeff Goldblum, Richard Attenborough

Synopsis: Dr. Alan Grant and Dr. Ellie Sattler (Sam Neil and Laura Dern), are paleontologists working on a dig for InGen where they are visited by the head of InGen, John Hammond (Richard Attenborough). Hammond insists they come with him to an island he owns so he can show them his new theme park in exchange for this he will continue to fund their dig for three more years. On their way to the island they learn that they have been chosen by Hammond to defend him against the company lawyer who is not convinced the park is ready to be opened. The lawyer has brought his own expert with hims in Dr. Ian Malcolm (Jeff Goldblum) a chaos theorist. Once at the park Dr. Grant and Dr. Sattler learn that this is no ordinary park, InGen has actually been able to genetically reproduce dinosaurs and Jurassic Park will be open to the public as soon as possible. After Hammond has explained what he plans to do with the park neither Dr. Grant nor Dr. Malcolm believe this is a good idea because they just don’t know how well humans and dinosaurs can cohabit the Earth successfully. After Hammond’s grandchildren arrive the tour starts and the dinosaurs are not easily visible until they find a sick Triceratops and Dr. Sattler decides to stay behind. Once the power goes out throughout the entire park Dr. Grant and the kids must find there way back to the main building and off the island before it is too late.

Trivia: Director Steven Spielberg was worried that computer graphics meant Nintendo type cartoon quality. He originally only wanted the herd of gallimimus dinosaurs to be computer-generated, but upon seeing ILM’s demo animation of a T-Rex chasing a herd of galamides across his ranch, he decided to shoot nearly all the dinosaur scenes using this method. The animation was first plotted on an Amiga Toaster, and rendered for the film by Silicon Graphics’ Indigo workstations. Generally speaking, any shot of a full dinosaur was computer-generated, but shots of parts of dinosaurs were of animatronics.

Why I think you should see this: I have seen Jurassic Park more times than I can count but it is just such and awesome film that it never seems to get old to me. Once again I cannot say enough for the work of Steven Spielberg who at this point in his career was releasing one amazing film after another. Sam Neil and Jeff Goldblum were both amazing as the two leads in the film and Laura Dern was pretty awesome too look for a youngish Samuel L. Jackson as Mr. Arnold. Considering how old this film was and that it is one of the first to successfully use CGI in a film the FX are pretty amazing. An absolute gem if you haven’t seen this shame on you and go rent it now!

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

14 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #30 Jurassic Park

  1. jmount43 ⋅

    You may think I’m crazy, but I actually enjoyed The Lost World more than I did this one. Great post.

  2. One of the single greatest “family adventure” movies ever made! It had it all: dinosaurs, super smart to the point of being annoying kids, older guy that feels awkward around kids…fantastic movie! Great post!

  3. Such a great movie!! The special effects were so ahead of their time.

  4. noa834 ⋅

    I find it has still not gotten old. I love this film!

  5. rochpikey

    Such a timeless classic. The effects, story, and characters are enthralling, once the movie starts it is tough to turn away and I mean that in a good way. This is one of my top 10 movies of all time simply because I could watch it over and over and not get tired of it.

  6. Thanks for visiting my blog!

  7. Just saw your like. Yeah I know I’m kind of a mess when it comes to replies. Just letting you know I appreciate the like and the and the blog visit. Thanks man!

  8. I had this on VHS but I need to get it on DVD. I remember seeing it at the theatre when it first came out. Damn near blew me away. Great flick.

Leave a Reply

