Posted on

Prometheus: Film Review

prometheus

Prometheus (2012)

Director: Ridley Scott

Cast: Noomi Rapace, Michael Fassbender, Charlize Theron, Logan Marshall-Green, Idris Elba, Guy Pearce

Synopsis: In the year 2089, archaeologists Elizabeth Shaw (Noomi Rapace) and her partner Charlie Holloway (Logan Marshall-Green) discover a star map among the remnants of several otherwise unconnected ancient cultures. They interpret this as an invitation from humanity’s forerunners. Peter Weyland (Guy Pearce), the elderly founder and CEO of the Weyland Corporation, funds the creation of the scientific deep space research vessel called the USS Prometheus to follow the map to the distant moon of LV-223 several light years from Earth. The ship’s crew travels in stasis at light speed while the android David (Michael Fassbender) stays awake at the pilot control to monitor their voyage. In 2093, the ship arrives in the orbit around LV-223. After being awakened from hibernation, the crew are informed of their mission to find the ancient aliens, called “Engineers” whom may be the original humans. But the crew of the Prometheus is not prepared for what awaits them on LV-223 a terror beyond anything they could have imagined.

david

Review: I am huge fan of the Alien franchise and when this was originally touted as a direct prequel I was admittedly worried until it was later revealed this would be a semi-prequel with only a few things tying it into the Alien franchise but clearly a part of the Alien universe. Part of why I love going to the theaters is no matter what your expectations are for a film it is highly unlikely that will meet all the expectations you have for it which I feel annoys most viewers. I have a feeling that the reason this film is not getting rave reviews from critics is because it is a thinking man’s sci-fi film which usually falls flat with U.S. audiences (no offense meant). You need to be patient with this film but I have no doubt this movie will be considered a classic in the years to come. Michael Fassbender steals that show as the android David, he is so good it is hard to believe that is a real person playing the character. Noomi Rapace was very good in her first starring role in a major Hollywood picture and Idris Elba was great as usual as the ship captain. The only complaints I had were that Charlize Theron seemed out of place as the cold and calculating Vickers and Guy Pearce is totally wasted in his small role as the elderly Weyland that makeup wasn’t as bad as I has heard but it probably would have been more effective to just bring back Lance Henriksen. I did not see it in 3D so you can bet that I will be going to see this a second time hopefully in Imax 3D. I had a lot of fun and this is definitely worth seeing especially since this is Ridley Scott’s first sci-fi film in 30 years. A

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

7 responses to “Prometheus: Film Review

  1. rochpikey

    I could not agree more that this is a thinking man’s sci-fi movie! It does not come out and say what was discovered which people may not like. I on the other hand loved that this movie leaves you to draw conclusions. Plus the final scene of the movie that explains origins of a different sort was brilliant and totally makes sense when you think about the Alien franchise as a whole.

    • Trevor

      Totally agree with you I enjoyed the final scene a lot this could be one of the better “prequels” ever made because unlike most others it doesn’t use to many references to the originals

  2. wollypark

    Thx like Morrisminor…i’m a funny film person, but your reviews will let me gossip about ones i havn’t seen…thx

  3. noa834 ⋅

    I must see this, glad it made the cut.

  4. Can’t wait to see it and love your review. I was hearing a lot of negative chatter about it and now I have some well-versed retort. Thanks.

  5. x24mccoy ⋅

    I’m glad you enjoyed it! It’s been getting lambasted on IMDB and Netflix. I had my reservations as well (especially when I saw that Damon Lindelhoff’s name in the credits [huge “Lost” fan till the series finale ruined it]). Nevertheless, being a Ridley Scott film, and coming from the guy who directed the movie that started it all, I gave it a chance. I’ll admit to the plot holes and to the convenient turns (how did they figure out what the black oil stuff was, and Rapace was awfully mobile for getting a mechanically-operated C-section from something not familiar with female anatomy). But the ancient alien twist, and giving explanation of what the Xenomorphs are and their origins was so freaking awesome it left me thinking about it for days.

    To those who criticise it, I just think about the theatrical release of “Blade Runner,” and how much the director’s and final cuts elevate it to one of my all-time favorite flicks. So I just hope the same thing will happen here. And if it turns out to be a 3-hour director’s cut, then more’s the merrier as far as I’m concerned.

Leave a Reply

