Posted on

Films to See Before You Die: #97 Inglourious Basterds

basterds

Inglourious Basterds (2009)

Director: Quentin Tarantino

Cast: Brad Pitt, Christoph Waltz, Mélanie Laurent, Diane Kruger

Synopsis: During World War II Lt. Aldo Raine (Brad Pitt) is tasked with assembling a group of Jewish soldiers called the “Basterds” so they can invoke some fear in the Nazi’s by scalping and brutally killing Nazi soldiers. In Nazi-occupied France Shosanna Dreyfus (Mélanie Laurent) witnesses the murder of her family at the hands of Col. Hans Landa (Christoph Waltz) and escapes to Paris. After 3 years of hiding Shosanna runs a theatre in Paris where Hitler will be attending a screening of a new propaganda film. Both Shosanna and the Basterds have a special evening planned for Hitler and his men.

Trivia: Leonardo DiCaprio was the first choice for Col. Hans Landa, but Quentin Tarantino then decided that a German-speaking actor should play the part.

Why I think you should see this: I will always recommend Tarantino films because he is my favourite director. He writes the best dialogue and is able to do it for both men and women. The film has standout performances by each cast member but Christoph Waltz’s Oscar winning  performance as Hans Landa ranks as one of the best characters Tarantino has created.

About Trevor

Hi my name is Trevor and this is my blog! Films are a passion of mine. I am a total film geek. I own over 700 films and the collection is ever growing. I studied Film Studies and Scriptwriting in College. What I have learned about films is mostly self taught.

6 responses to “Films to See Before You Die: #97 Inglourious Basterds

  1. noa834 ⋅

    Much as I am not a big fan of violent films I do love Tarantino too. Great review!

  2. I keep meaning to watch this… I still haven’t seen it. I’m glad you mentioned it as I might just have to rent it this weekend. I might go for Moneyball too – something tells me I need to see that 🙂

  3. One of Tarantino’s best. He mixes everything so well here: story, violence, languages, and even adds a bit of comedy in there. Brad Pitt and Christoph Waltz are aces, the latter deserving his Oscar win for sure.

  4. I watched “Pulp Fiction” the other day. Absolutely brilliant. Hilarious even. The dialogue is so clever and the actors play their parts so dead-pan. i hope it makes it on the list further up the ladder.

    This is good too but not nearly as good. Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

